Hug Your Muscles To The Bone!

The first time I heard the common yoga instruction “hug your muscles to the bone“, I thought to myself  “uh oh, what the heck does that mean? What am I supposed to be doing now”? Often in a class setting we are shy or embarrassed to ask during the middle of the class. In a private setting at home, if you are watching a DVD, you either have to do some research or just continue on and hope the teacher explains it.

This journal tracks my yoga progress along with sharing tidbits that might help others out there.

I eventually figured it out, but I know that in my yoga quest I knew I could not be the only one out there who didn’t know what this meant. Once I figured out what it meant it made so much more sense to me, and I hope this explanation does the same for you. So with our further ado, hugging your muscles to the bone is to engage your muscles, thus creating more stability in your body.

Let me know your thoughts. If this explanation helps make sense of some of that common confusing yoga jargon.

Tags: , , ,

Thoughts? Leave me a message.

