Diffuse Anger with Yoga and Positive Thinking

Nobody is perfect, especially not me. I admit that at times I have had mood swings, thank you hormones and mother nature. Its been said that anger is depression turned outward. I think one of the important things I have learned is that there are ways to react skillfully and in a positive way. Channel that anger into something positive. I find if I take a step back, really think things thru, and look at the situation from a different perspective, it allows me to make a smart decision and have the ability to dissipate the anger. Someone once gave me some advice that has stuck with me to this very day, and I would like to share it with you. Take a look at the situation that is upsetting you. Is this something that will matter in five years? Chances are that your answer is no. So why are you getting so upset? Take a deep breath in, hold for a few seconds, and let it go. Breathe, just breathe. This advice has gotten me through the better part of a decade, no scratch that, if I am to be completely accurate then I have to say that as its now into decade #2, but you get the point.

How does this all tie into yoga? Well one of the goals of yoga is complete happiness and contentment by fully developing your mind and body. Yoga isn’t just asanas, the more popular limb that majority of us westerners are familiar with. Yoga is about uniting our minds, bodies and spirits. The physical and spiritual exercises, ethical and moral guidelines. To help teach us to be masterful over our body, minds, emotional self, and the transcendence of desires.  The ultimate goal is moksha, where we have attained the liberation from worldly suffering and the cycle of birth and rebirth. A state of Nirvana, where we have transcended suffering, desire, sense of self, and one is released from karma or samsara [the eternal cycle of birth, suffering, death, and rebirth]. Yoga is an ancient practice, one which I am glad to have discovered. If you let it in your life and open your self up to it, it can be a life long practice, not just the occasional DVD or class. A journey to a better life.

Going back to the aforementioned anger,  after I have assessed the situation that is bothering me I can channel that energy into something positive. I throw that energy into my yoga practice. You can use anger as a tool and not let it be something negative, driving you to unfavorable actions.We know we shouldn’t get angry, but it’s not something we can always help. If you accept that you will sometimes get angry, and understand that emotions can over power us and take over our thoughts, you can then allow it to throw you into a state where you can be aware and correct those feelings. Perform a yoga practice, which will warm up the body for meditation. After the asanas and savasana, sit comfortably and meditate. Breathe, focus on the rhythm of your breath and let go of what is making you angry.

Prana, the breath, is a powerful thing. A life-giving force, it heals us, and has great lessons to teach us.

One thought on “Diffuse Anger with Yoga and Positive Thinking

Thoughts? Leave me a message.

