Yoga and Cultivating Compassion

Karuna is a Sanskrit word that roughly translates to the actions taken to diminish the suffering of others. Helping others in their healing process can also help us. Today I woke up with an intense feeling of need to extend and voice my compassion to others out of love. Its part of my own healing process after all.

If I were to take a trip in the way back machine, several years ago I decided to take action since my mental illness [Severe Depression] was consuming me. It’s no lie that I have to work everyday to keep my depression at bay, and will continue to do so for the rest of my life. Yogic practices and the knowledge system behind it have made the process easier. I am able to cope with life, I can deal with stress better, and I can actually laugh at times, smile or think positively. Huge steps.

I wanted to share bits of my own journey. I know from experience, that when information in the past was shared with me, it was hard to accept. Especially when I felt like others did not understand how I was feeling or what I was going through. How could they truly offer or provide me compassion. In other words it was as if they were on a soap box stating all this information that would be helpful, but yet not being ones who suffered themselves the information and compassion only went so far. Sometimes compassion and love is all you need to motivate you. It is this reason that I share my journey with you.

My goal is for other mental illness sufferers to know that while you may feel alone, you aren’t the only one feeling this way. I realize at most times you might feel like your existence is bleak. You have no hope or positive thoughts entering in your mind. It does get better. It won’t happen over night, it won’t be easy, it will take work, but if you want to feel better, which I am sure most of you do, the help and resources are out there for us. They are out there just waiting for us to tap into them. We all have so much potential, and its up to us to realize that. When our life might be out of sorts and we feel off kilter we have to be reminded of such things. We have to be reminded that we are not alone. With depression we are so often caught up in a fog and feel hopeless, that along with all the other symptoms is no way to live. I would not wish depression on my worst enemy, that is if I had one but you get the point. It’s a terrible thing to live with, however it can be turned around.

I feel like it helps define me, not in a bad way mind you. It is one facet that makes me who I am. I can embrace it now, as part of the process of compassion. The spin or positive thoughts I can say about depression is that it has opened up new doors in my life. New avenues to learn and the ability to provide compassion to others who are out there suffering, some of which are possibly even in silence. This blog is my “Karuna”.

Remember that you really are loved and cared for. Your not alone, no matter how alone you may feel. I hope you can feel the warmth of the sun’s healing light today. I hope you can feel relief today, if even brief, and have a smile on your face. Love and light to you.

One thought on “Yoga and Cultivating Compassion

  1. Great post…you are so right when you say we are not alone. It’s a nice reminder, because when you’re down in the weeds of any mental illness, it can be hard to remember that sometimes.

Thoughts? Leave me a message.

