Looking for the Stillness Inside the Dance

The intersection of yoga and music has evolved. Combining music with your yoga practice can not only deepen your practice but it can motivate or energize you too. It can bring about a relaxing flow to subconsciously ease you from one pose to the next. Like the ebb and flow of the ocean tides. Music, like yoga, can heal and cleanse you. It can make you feel alive and rested. I enjoy the sense of well being and wholeness it can provide.

The right type of music can do all these things and more. The intersection of music combined with yoga can make you feel relaxed, renewed, and refreshed. It can get you out of your head space, and relax the chattering monkey mind. Music opens your heart to compassion. It can make you feel at one with everything and keep you grounded.

Sometimes I find the right song can “call” to me if you will, and make me want to drop everything and just dance. Music and yoga has many crossroads and intersections on our journey. Uniquely blended music combined with the movements of our body can transport us into a trance like state and promote spiritual awakening. You will feel that mental clarity we so yearn for, gain stamina and emotional well-being. We can release and let go, we can allow the dance to take away our worries and any negative feelings.

After work, I felt drained of energy. I knew I wanted to go to bed at a more reasonable hour than last night. To restore some energy and revitalize myself an evening restorative practice that included the moon salutations: Chandra Namaskar was just what the doctor ordered. The moon salutations as you probably guessed are an evening variation of the sun salutations Surya Namaskar. When I go to sleep tonight I want to just melt into my bed. I want to fall asleep with ease and turn off the monkey mind, turn off that incessant chatter that is present at most waking moments. A relaxing practice is going to send

Tonight after performing my yoga practice, the image of Nataraja comes to my mind, the dancer. Nataraja is the depiction of the Hindu god Shiva, who performs a rhythmic dance associated with the creation of the world, and the destruction of weary perspectives or world views. Tearing down to recreate, destruction to build a new. In yoga we derive the names of our poses from Sanskrit. If we translate Nataraja, Nata means dancer and Raja means king. When we practice this asana, we practice this pose with mindfulness and attentiveness. We are focusing our attention on the present, and moving with a gracefulness as if we are dancing. Strengthening our concentration and sense of balance, we can find the stillness within the dance.

One thought on “Looking for the Stillness Inside the Dance

  1. I agree with you. Music, I feel, knows how to tap into the soul and invoke emotions that need to be felt or released. Combined with yoga and it’s a double dose of perfection.

Thoughts? Leave me a message.

