In-Flight Yoga & Life in India

Two posts in 1!

Since I last wrote I made it unceremoniously and safely from the United States of America to India, where I am currently writing this post from. I have been able to gain internet access for a short time and felt like writing. Before I begin a post about yoga, I thought I might also include a few tidbits about my experiences in India also. [A more complete version of my trip will be posted in a travel blog with some accompanying photos at a later date. I will post that link later once I am back in the United States.]

Life In India:

India is not unlike how I thought it would be, no culture shock for me either, not that I anticipated that I would have any. I am pretty well versed on India, her people’s, and the Indian culture, therefore I knew what to expect. I have been told that I must have been Indian in another life or that I am “more Indian than some of my friends back home”, (as I am American and not of Indian Origin). Such a nice complement! Now back to India, the land of knowledge, ancient culture, and spices among other things. I have spent most of my time in Puja ceremonies, visiting historic sites, Hindu temples, and practicing solitary yoga. I have running water and a western toilet, but take my shower with a bucket and a mug. Not all would be able to handle life in India, but it’s important to realize that a lot of the “luxuries” we have in developed countries aren’t always necessary for us to survive.

Tomorrow, April 10th, is my birthday, and I get to spend it here in India! What an exciting new way to spend a birthday! There is a lot of poverty in some parts of India and I only wish I could help bring everyone out of that. I wanted to do some volunteer work this trip and attend some classes but neither worked out, so instead of being disappointed or feeling bad I look onward and upward to the future. I know I will be back here in South India in the not too distant future. At that time perhaps the stars will align and things would fall into place at that time if it is meant to be. Every journey is an opportunity for knowledge and growth. It can be a like a pilgrimage (a journey to a sacred spot). A journey to transcending our own limitations, and experiencing a cross-cultural union.

And now on with the show!

In Flight Yoga:

In my last post I mentioned airplane yoga so I thought I would pick up again  from there. I was all set to do some stretches in my seat and was pleasantly surprised that Lufthansa airlines has added “flyrobics” / “airobics” to the inflight entertainment and informational systems for all passengers. Using a computer animated model, the aim of the 10 min or so video is to relax, stimulate, and improves circulation to keep the blood flowing. All from the comfort of your seat with your safety belt fastened or slightly loosened if need be. The movement prevents tight muscles, swelling and fluid build up in our lower extremities.  Sure getting up and walking around the cabin would provide the same effect, but perhaps you don’t want to climb over your fellow passengers again or just plainly don’t want to be in the way in a crowded narrow aisle. You can do these exercises not only on an intercontinental flight, but domestic flights as well. For a twist you actually could even perform the movements from a chair in  your house while you watch t.v : “Chairobics“.

I will include a few links and PDFs that you can either save or print out for examples of exercises you can do in addition to a few tips:

PDF’S:

Airplane Yoga or How to look like a real weirdo to fellow passengers:

yoga_card

Flying Pilates / Yoga:

pilates_card

Inflight Comfort Tips:

inflight-comfort

Links:

Inflight Well Being Tips

http://www.pacificislands.airnewzealand.com/inflight-wellbeing

Tip: While in flight in addition to plenty of water you can moisturize your face to reduce the effects of drying cabin air.

Sources:Image 1: by dshanley retrieved on April 09 2012 from http://www.sxc.hu/photo/199293
Thoughts? Leave me a message.

