Spiritual Vitamins: Yoga & Meditation

In they way that vitamins, minerals, and supplements nourish our bodies, spiritual vitamins are food for the soul. They are tidbits of truth to our ever ravenous world. While we often take time to care for our bodies, we need to nourish our hearts and spirits as well. Sometimes this additional nourishment is forgotten about in the hustle and bustle of our daily lives.

Most of us who perform a yoga practice consistently also tend to be mindful of what we eat. We take into account what our bodies need to perform at there optimum levels. By possessing a healthy mindset, we take vitamins and or supplements if our diets are not meeting all our bodies needs. Spiritual vitamins enrich our souls, our minds and our daily lives.

If I managed to capture your attention and you have read this far [I am humbled, and I thank you] I am going to go out on a limb and say perhaps you are wondering what some examples of “spiritual vitamins” are… don’t worry I won’t leave you hanging =). Spiritual vitamins are yoga, meditation, Tai Chi, for some it might even be prayer or puja’s. Basically anything of a similar nature that promotes health and well-being. Something, an activity perhaps that others might consider off the beaten path, is a “spiritual vitamin”.

Like me if you or someone you know suffers from depression, my “spiritual vitamins” [yoga & meditation] help to nourish ever fiber of my being, ever facet of my soul. Since I perform a regular daily practice, I think of yoga as my “one a day [spiritual] vitamin”. These vitamins can help you change and banish those negative thoughts, it can help keep them at bay, and improve your life. “Vitamins” can also help you become more enlightened after a time and free you from attachments. They can help you get the most out of your life and allow you to tap into unrealized potential.

When I feel the need to turn inward and my mood starts feeling low I know I need an extra dose of my spiritual vitamins. Today is one of those days, so I am going to meditate, move and stretch into some lovely poses. I feel like some calming music that meshes well with any practice.

Deuter’s – Tibet nada himalaya  2 . Youtube even has a playlist which will kick off from the below.

so I ask you, have you had your spiritual vitamins today?

Thoughts? Leave me a message.

