Is there really such a thing as too much pumpkin?

It’s Thanksgiving and for the first time, perhaps ever, I found myself with a first world problem this month…Too many cans of pumpkin puree! What to do?

Pumpkin Puree

I know some might say, really can one have to many cans of pumpkin? They somehow multipled in my cupboard, I don’t recall purchasing quite so many. Fall is an especially important time in a pumpkins life. They get the opportunity to shine in countless dishes savory or sweet. Some are even decorated or carved for Halloween. In order to use up said cans of pumpkin puree and fulfill my desires [read obsession] for my quest to consume pumpkiny goodness, I made quite a few pumpkin dishes or drinks this month. Its pretty remarkable how many things you can make by adding one of the autumn seasons key players.

The pumpkin in all his glory

The ones I made that I liked best were:

  • Pumpkin Bread
  • Pumpkin Butterscotch Scones
  • Pumpkin Muffins
  • Pumpkin Crumble
  • Pumpkin Coffee
  • Dark Chocolate Chunk Pumpkin Bread
  • Pumpkin Wheat Farina Breakfast Cereal
  • Pumpkin Curry Soup
  • Pumpkin Cookies

Fresh from the oven: pumpkin muffins with Chocolate & Butterscotch Chips

I think my husband will be happy when fall is over, as I’m pretty much sure he is tired of pumpkin everything. I think I’ve just about had my fill of pumpkins, hard to believe isn’t it?  I know those words will most surely make him happy.  I have 1/2 a can left that will most likely be consumed in the form of pumpkin coffee or pumpkin wheat farina, and then the pumpkin will be done for the year in my house. There’s still more items to try / be had, however I think they may just have to wait until next year for a fair assessment. This will prevent becoming burnt out on pumpkin, which I can have a tendency to do.

Trader Joe’s fearless flyer

Some store-bought pumpkin themed items that have proven to be tasty great purchases:

  • Pumpkin Ice Cream
  • Pumpkin Frozen Yogurt
  • Pumpkin Rooibos Tea
  • Pumpkin Cream Cheese
  • Pumpkin Cheese Cake
  • Pumpkin Butter
  • Pumpkin Ravioli
  • Pumpkin Truffles
  • Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffin
  • Pumpkin Beer
  • Pumpkin Seeds [both pepita and cooked]
  • Pumpkin Pancakes or Waffles
  • Pumpkin Oatmeal

Fearless Flyer

So So Purchases:

  • Pumpkin Granola
  • Pumpkin Smoothie

I’ve tried most pumpkin items out there, which I am sure does not surprise you if you’ve read this far. Perhaps this post will inspire you to do some holiday baking, or even stop by a cafe to try a new scrumptious treat. You don’t have to feel as guilty consuming said treat if you keep in mind that pumpkin has numerous health benefits. Pumpkins have some of the essential things we need in our diets

More Health Benefits Of Our Friend The Pumpkin:

  • Keeps our eyesight sharp
  • Aids in weight loss
  • Pumpkin Seeds are good for the heart
  • Linked to reducing cancer
  • Protect the skin
  • Boost your mood
  • Help after a hard workout
  • Boost your immune system

What’s your favorite pumpkin themed food?
Sources:
http://nakedtruthnutritionist.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/oragnic-pumpkin.jpg
http://sheality.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/trader-joes.png
http://api.ning.com/files/3qHlAnbvmIxn9OQzQsVTW1*uL9YVBX9mgbqxqhf0FSGMZhIYq4-rRwJmu3tvf0549TzmHzBn0KJzSPGMhQ8b8*4eMaRy05Lj/homecenterLtimagepumpkin.png
http://cdn2.content.compendiumblog.com/uploads/user/60e1f3de-9022-4822-b04f-6e65a57f5d12/b173eee3-a702-490a-8971-f0479199b78f/Image/ac6c9f3d70cd99cf17e00e0bc56ef9b0/pumpkins_3_test.jpg

Thoughts? Leave me a message.

