Yoga’s Purpose

The purpose of Yoga, is to stop suffering even before it arises.



Tea Quotes On Being Compassionate

Be kind and compassionate, and the whole world will be your friend.

world compassion

Image Source

Native American 10 Commandments To Live By

Rather than call them as commandments, I like to think of them as little bits of wisdom, mantra’s or guidance. Because it’s been a few weeks since I have had the chance to share any tea quotes, I thought I would include this gem.


  1. the Earth is our mother; care for her.
  2. Honor all your relations .
  3. Open your heart and soul to the great spirit.
  4. All life is sacred, treat all beings with respect.
  5. Take from the earth what is needed and nothing more.
  6. Do what needs to be done for the good of all.
  7. Give constant thanks to the great spirit each day.
  8. Speak the truth but only for the good in others.
  9. Follow the rhythms of nature.
  10. Enjoy Life’s journey but leave no tracks.

Image Source

Confucius Quote on Teaching and Learning



We all learn differently, some of us are Audio learners, while others are Visual or kinesthetic [tactile learning].  I am one of those that really do learn from involvement. This quote really resonated with me last weekend and it’s really stuck with me throughout the entire week. This is not untrue of me learning new yoga asanas either.

More Tea Quotes

“There is always time for tea.”

Like the quote says, there’s always time for tea. Time to stop and smell the roses. We just have to make the time in our busy lives.

I drew this not long ago as part of a meditation through art project. I then stuck it up on my art site

Zen Tea Quote

“Drink your tea slowly and reverently, as if it is the axis on which the world earth revolves – slowly, evenly, without rushing toward the future.”

-Thich Nhat Hanh (via japanese-zen)

buddah tree teapot

I happen to listen to an interview today with Thich Nhat Hanh, and thought this a fitting quote. Especially since I am currently drinking a cuppa tea, from my lovely yixying buddah’s in a tree clay teapot.  I am one of those who savor my cuppa. It’s nice to slow down sometimes, and allow ourselves to recharge. To soak up newly gained wisdom, or just ponder. I find comfort and solace in the Gayatri mantra I sing myself tonight.

Giving Quotes

Strength does not lie in what you have. It lies in what you can give.


It could even be as simple [and free] as a hug or smile that could easily uplift and transform someone’s day.

Image Sources:

Symptoms Of Inner Peace

new Preface update 9.29.13

As of Sept 29, 2013 It was brought to my attention that my original post “12 Symptoms of Spiritual Awakening” was something that apparently someone out there on the interwebs re-named. It happens as people share on social media sites like facebook etc… and not notate the piece’s origination. Then the cycle continues on since newcomers have no idea who to credit either. Anyway, apparently they took this info from author Saskia Davis’s poster. They also changed the title from “Symptoms Of Inner Peace ” to “12 Symptoms of Spiritual Awakening”. Some people out there don’t always take the time to properly credit an author’s original work. I am someone who always tries to give credit where credit is due, and have therefore included this paragraph with links to Saskia’s site. I have posted both versions so you can compare. You can see the subtle nuances or differences that can happen over time. Think of that game, telephone we played as kids where the original statement changes over time. Each person the statement is whispered to is can change bit by bit from the original.

This is what her lovely poster looks like:


[12 Symptoms of Spiritual Awakening]

The below was originally posted on Dec 16, 2012.

As someone on a path to spiritual enlightenment, I happen to come across this lovely gem:

  1. An increased tendency to let things happen rather than make them happen.
  2. Frequent attacks of smiling.
  3. Feelings of being connected with others and nature.
  4. frequent overwhelming episodes of appreciation.
  5. A tendency to think and act spontaneously rather than from fears based on past experience.
  6. An unmistakable ability to enjoy each moment.
  7. A loss of ability to worry.
  8. A loss of interest in conflict.
  9. A loss of interest in interpreting the actions of others.
  10. A loss of interest in judging others.
  11. A loss of interesting in judging self.
  12. Gaining the ability to love without expecting anything.



My next statement is not meant to disrespect the author in any way, or discredit her time and efforts in her endeavors. Its more of me just talking to myself if you will, since this is a blog of honesty in my journey. Where I track my thoughts, my progress, my areas of opportunity, my fails or shortcomings, or even my successes. They are all things I [we] learn from in life. My thoughts eat at me and I’d regret not writing out my feelings. If I didn’t say that for me I personally felt like the title “12 Symptoms of Spiritual Awakening” resonated more with me than “Symptoms Of Inner Peace” title does. I feel like I wouldn’t be my true authentic self if I didn’t note that when or if I reminisced on this post again in the future.

It was something that has been eating at me and I’ve been losing sleep over. I realized in order to continue on a path of inner peace, and spiritual enlightenment that I had to write my feelings down. Put the pen to paper. Perhaps it resonates with me because I feel like I am on more of a spiritual journey than a peace journey at this time, although it’s certainly worth noting you need one to have the other. Perhaps it’s also because that was the title I have been used to. Nevertheless the key to take away from all this is that they are great mantras and statements to live by no matter how you feel, and to remember to give credit where credit is due.

Again no disrespect mean to Saskia.


An Encouraging Quote

Being disabled doesn’t have to be a disadvantage.


Oscar Pistorius made history as the first double amputee to run at the Olympics.


Image Source: